Sunday, November 28, 2010

30th Diners Club Winemaker of the Year announced

The 2010 Diners Club Winemaker of the Year is Mr Sauvignon aka Bartho Eksteen from Hermanus winery Hermanuspietersfontein (only to be attempted while sober) while  RJ Botha from Durbanville's Nitida Cellars is their Young Winemaker of the Year. Bartho has been Sauvignon-mad throughout his career so this award was always a matter of time.... 

RJ Botha, Ebrahim Matthews and Bartho Eksteen aka Mr Sauvignon

Winemakers had to submit Sauvignon blanc wines while the young winemakers were judged on their unfortified dry red cultivar or blended wines.

Diners Club celebrated the 30th year of the Winemaker of the Year competition and the tenth for young winemaker award. 

Speaking at the formal dinner award ceremony in the Winelands on 27 November, Diners Club managing director Ebrahim Matthews said over the years these awards had become a benchmark for the industry and were regarded as one of South Africa’s most prestigious wine competitions. “For three decades Diners Club has been selecting and rewarding the finest of South African winemakers, encouraging them to dig deeper and raise the standard of South African wines to a level where they would be recognised on an international stage. We believe that they have achieved this and more,” Matthews said.

Eat Out Mag will tonight announce its Top chefs and restaurants - stand by.

No comments:

Post a Comment