Tuesday, 21 August 2012

2012 FNB Sauvignon Blanc Top 10

The 20 finalists are drawn from a wide array of producing areas (Cape Agulhas, Breedekloof, Cederberg, Darling, Durbanville, Elgin, Langeberg-Garcia, Stellenbosch and Tulbagh are all represented one way or another) and the line-up of producers includes both those with well-established reputations for making high quality Sauvignon Blanc and relative newcomers.  12 of the wines came from the 2012 vintage, seven from 2011 and one from 2010.

Clos Malverne 2011
Clos Malverne 2012
D'Aria The Songbird 2011
De Morgenzon DMZ 2012
Diemersdal MM Louw 2011
Driehoek 2012
Du Toitskloof 2012
Durbanville Hills Biesjes Craal 2012
Ernst Gouws & Co 2012
Groote Post 2012
Lomond Pincushion 2011
Lomond Sugarbush 2010
Nederburg The Young Airhawk 2011
Neethlingshof Single Vineyard 2012
Paul Cluver 2011
Saronsberg Provenance 2012
Simonsig Sunbird 2012
Spice Route 2012
é Pepin Condé 2011
Virgin Earth Pepper Tree 2012

The wines which placed in the Top 10 will be made public on Thursday 13 September.

Wednesday, 8 August 2012

Auction Season

The annual Cape Winemakers Guild (CWG) wine auction will be held at Spier on Saturday 6 October. Wine enthusiasts can taste the auction wines at the CTICC in Cape Town at 18h00 on Thursday, 23 August and at 18h00 at The Atrium, Nedbank Sandton in Johannesburg on Thursday, 30 August. Tickets cost R170 and are available from www.WebTickets.co.za.
Two members of the Guild make their Auction debut this year: Gottfried Mocke, with his Chamonix Chardonnay Auction Reserve 2011 and Miles Mossop with his Tokara Auction Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2010.

The new varietals on offer this year include a Cinsault from Adi Badenhorst, AA Badenhorst Family Wines Shatoe Ramnasgras 2011, on offer in the regular 750 ml and a magnum, and the John Loubser Garibaldi Nebbiolo 2009. Other interesting blends include the Graham Beck The Catalyst Shiraz Viognier 2010 and the Luddite Oscar Shiraz Mourvédre 2009. The only Port-style wine  is the Carel Nel Cape Vintage Auction Reserve 2010.

The full list

750ml unless otherwise indicated
AA Badenhorst Family Wines Shatoe Ramnasgras 2011
AA Badenhorst Family Wines Shatoe Ramnasgras 2011 (magnums)         
Ataraxia Under the Gavel Chardonnay 2011    
Beyerskloof Traildust Pinotage 2010    
Boschkloof Bakhand Shiraz 2010        
Bouchard Finlayson Pinot Noir 2009   
Cape Point Vineyards Auction Reserve White 2011     
Carel Nel Cape Vintage Auction Reserve 2010
Cederberg Ghost Corner Semillon 2011          
Cederberg Teen Die Hoog Shiraz 2010           
Chamonix Chardonnay Auction Reserve 2011 
De Grendel Amandelboord Sauvignon Blanc 2012       
De Grendel Op Die Berg Pinot Noir 2010       
De Trafford Perspective 2009  
De Trafford Syrah 2009          
Edgebaston Cabernet Sauvignon Reserve 2010 (magnums)
Ernie Els CWG 2010   
Etienne Le Riche Cabernet Sauvignon Auction Reserve 2009   
Graham Beck Non Plus Ultra Cap Classique 2008       
Graham Beck The Catalyst Shiraz Viognier 2010         
Grangehurst Cabernet Sauvignon Auction Reserve 2006          
Groot Constantia CWG Shiraz 2009    
Hartenberg Estate Auction Shiraz 2009
Hartenberg Loam Hill Merlot 2009      
Haskell The Expatriate 2010    
Haskell Paradigm 2008
John Loubser Garibaldi Nebbiolo 2009
Jordan Chardonnay Auction Reserve 2011      
Jordan Sophia 2009    
Kaapzicht Cape Blend 2009    
Kanonkop CWG Paul Sauer 2007      
Kanonkop CWG Paul Sauer 2009      
Kanonkop CWG Pinotage 2010          
Kleine Zalze Granite Selection Cabernet Sauvignon 2009         
Louis Laika 2010        
Luddite "Oscar" Shiraz Mourvédre 2009          
Luddite "The Reserve" Shiraz 2008      
Neil Ellis Auction Reserve 2007           
Overgaauw DC Classic 2009  
Paul Cluver Pinot Noir 2010    
Paul Cluver The Wagon Trail Chardonnay 2010           
Rijk's CWG Chenin Blanc 2011          
Rijk's CWG Pinotage 2010     
Rust en Vrede Cabernet Sauvignon 2009         
Saronsberg CWG Semillon 2008         
Simonsig Cuvée Chêne Blanc de Blancs MCC 2007    
Simonsig Estate Heirloom Shiraz 2010 
Spier Merlot 2009       
Spier Pinotage 2009    
Teddy Hall Eva (Krotoa) Muscat de Frontignan 2009 Noble Late Harvest       
Teddy Hall Hendrik Biebouw Auction Reserve Chenin Blanc 2011 (375ml)      
Tokara Auction Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2010      
Waterford Estate Auction Reserve BB 2009